Six Principles of Peacemaking

We encourage MWEG members and our friends to take time to become acquainted with these principles and to read the accompanying scriptures.

* * *

MWEG’s Six Principles of Peacemaking

“And lift up an ensign of peace, and make a proclamation of peace unto the ends of the earth.” –D&C 105:39

  1. Peacemaking is proactive and courageous.

We are all called to be peacemakers. We acquire the necessary courage and confidence for this work by filling our hearts and minds with pure knowledge, charity, and virtue. (see Matthew 5:9 and D&C 121: 42, 45)

  1. Peacemaking seeks to unify instead of divide.

We believe that only kindness, empathy, and pure love can adequately enlarge our souls, strip us of hypocrisy, and help us become reconciled to Jesus Christ and to one another. (see Ephesians 2: 14, 19 and D&C 121:42)

  1. Peacemaking demands great tolerance for people and none for injustice.

We reject and oppose any attempt to use power or authority for the purposes of self-interest, justification of evil, or exercising unrighteous dominion or compulsion over others. We seek to dismantle all such corruption and the injustices which it perpetuates. (see Ephesians 5:11 and D&C 121:37)

  1. Peacemaking views human suffering as sacred.

We believe it is our Christian duty to alleviate human suffering wherever possible. For those to whom we cannot provide relief, we bear witness to their suffering, mourn with them in solidarity, and persistently shine a light on the causes of that suffering. (see Luke 16: 19-31 and Mosiah 18: 8-9)

  1. Peacemaking chooses love instead of hate.

We believe that love is the most powerful force in the universe and that any sound relations can be maintained only through persuasion, patience, gentleness, meekness, and love unfeigned, and that through this love, the hearts of all people might be knit together. (see D&C 121:41, 1 Corinthians 13: 4-8, and Mosiah 18:21)

  1. Peacemaking believes that ultimate peace is not only possible, but sure.

We believe that, through Christ who overcame all, we can have the hope of peace in this life, regardless of our circumstances, and the promise of everlasting peace when Christ comes again to reign forever as the Prince of Peace. (see John 16:33 and D&C 59:23)