Take Action: April 17, 2017 Practice responsible stewardship over our earth

  • Action Utah suggests 10 ways to celebrate Earth Day (celebrated this Saturday).
  • Participate in the March for Science on Saturday. If you knit and you support science, check out this cool “thinking cap” idea: http://news.stanford.edu/…/stanford-microbiologist-creates…/
  • Ask your representative to join the bipartisan Climate Solutions Caucus, which will explore policy options that address the impacts, causes, and challenges of our changing climate. The caucus was founded in February of 2016 by two south-Florida representatives, Carlos Curbelo (R-FL) and Ted Deutch (D-FL), who serve as co-chairs of the caucus. The caucus will be balanced in number of Republicans and Democrats, so let’s get members of both parties on board.
  • EPA Chief Scott Pruitt has called for an “exit” from the Paris agreement, an agreement endorsed by nearly 200 countries to fight climate change. You can go to the EPA comment website and provide your thoughts about the EPA unwinding important regulatory measures.  Click on the upper right “Comment Now” tab to open the comment form.  If you have specific facts supporting your opposition to the repeal of these regulations, please include them in your comments.  If not, a simple message might be best.  If you want help crafting a comment, you can email these climate change policy experts who will lend you a hand.
  • Ask your MoCs their opinion on Trump’s environmental actions and let them know that you want them to vote for strong support for scientific programming.
  • Thank the Republican representatives who joined Democrats in voting NO on the misnamed “HONEST” Act: Ryan Costello (PA), Carlos Curbelo (FL), John Faso (NY), Brian Fitzpatrick (PA), Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL), Mark Sanford (SC), and Elise Stefanik (NY).  The “HONEST” Act and the Science Advisory Board Reform Act are now in the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works. Is your senator on the committee? If so please contact them and let them know these two acts cannot become law. See the list of committee members here.